Skip to content

Abandoned Campaign

February 25, 2009

I am a little slow to get the news, but I needed to share a hugely innovative ad campaign by Burger King.

I saw it in a the Technology Blog of The Dallas News (stumbleupon.com has no boundaries): apparently BK was giving coupons out to people who would ‘sacrifice’ 10 Facebook friends. Facebook is apparently responsible for shutting them down – I know, my title is incorrect its more of assassinated campaigns.

I just needed to share – it is a fantastic use of existing social networks to further a brand.

One Comment leave one →
  1. michaelbungartz permalink
    February 27, 2009 4:56 PM

    Innovative and clever yes. I think we all have a handful of “friends” on facebook that we would get rid of for a small return. It’s an interesting example of how even a quasi-negative spun ad campaign can gain attention.

    Almost 240,000 friends sacrificed…impressive.

    I hadn’t heard. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

