Skip to content

A quick lesson in networking

April 6, 2009

This weekend I was involved with networking at it’s finest. I had a chance to catch up with a friend from high school who has been out of work for nearly 6 months. He is a licensed MA Realtor and has a degree in Business Management. He has had temp jobs here and there but cannot find steady work.

He passed me along a resume and cover letter and asked me to keep him in mind.

It had just so happened that a week earlier I had reached out to an old co-worker to see how they’ve been and what they’re up to using LinkedIn. They got back to me this morning, after a brief conversation I had learned that they are active in rental properties and may be hiring someone soon to help with his increasing workload.

BINGO!

I hadn’t been trying to accomplish anything specifically, just catching up with old friends, but now I can help two friends with needs connect.

If you ever needed validation that networking works, this is it. There doesn’t even need to be social media involved… but it doesn’t hurt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

