Skip to content

Your Boss Is Watching

June 22, 2009

Guess what. You’re not invisible. Neither is your web presence.

If you think you’ve managed to hide yourself on the web from a boss, friend, mother, job interviewer, etc; you haven’t.

You're Being Watched

You're Being Watched

It does not take much to find a persons presence on social media sites, and you would be surprised how many people disregard this. Just looking at my own facebook friends, (see example here) I can see that most don’t take this point to heart. Updating your status that you are wasting your time at your current job may not be a good incentive for your boss to give you a promotion.

As an example of how easy it is to connect the dots, I will lay out this situation. Through this blog I received an email regarding a posting. I responded with my personal email address, not connected with this blog. Later in that afternoon I had a friend request on LinkedIn from the person I had emailed earlier. My blog is not posted there, my name has several duplicates and the emails aren’t associated, but still I was found. I was not surprised, but thought it was very interesting.

Stay transparent and remember you’re being watched.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

