Skip to content

Do you really need to be connected?

July 24, 2009

This is my question to every company running out to get on Facebook, Twitter etc.

Is it necessary?

Several years ago, I pushed for my employer to get into blogging. I did this because I felt like they had a lot of information that would be great to share. It would help remain on top of customers minds, increase their search presence, and great a stronger brand.

These were the points I brought to my boss, and this is what I would say when pitching Twitter to that same employer. However, I would not advice them to create a Facebook page. They do not have a brand that I feel fits into a Facebook format and I would not want to jeopardize their brand.

Just because there are all these ‘hot new media’ options, does not mean your brand will fit in with it. I may be in the minority for thinking this, and I reserve the right to change my opinion as these media options evolve, but this is where I stand today.

I’m really interested in hearing what other people think on this matter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

