Skip to content

Why make the effort?

August 7, 2009

As a marketer, I focus on keeping everything cohesive, getting the word out through specific channels and seeing results. This is a simplified mission statement of me as a marketer, but will serve its purpose.

In my personal involvement with social media however I have a different approach.

I am an avid user of Facebook, a moderate Tweeter, an active member of a blogging community (WordPress) occasional Linked in user, etc. etc. I use all of these forums in different manners and; while not keeping them hidden from each other, do not integrate the efforts into one massive stream of “ThatGuySteve” or “Stephen Beaudoin” consciousness.

Why then, do I go through all this effort? My answer is simple, but does not make total sense to me as a marketer.

It is not about who’s listening to me – it’s about having something to say.

I do use all of these channels as learning platforms for my own career as it is certain that new media is here to stay in one form or another. By participating in forms of new or social media, I am learning the ins and outs of them all. They have already helped me in initiatives I’ve had in my career and I believe that they are only going to be more prevalent as I continue.

So that’s why I do it. What’s your excuse?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 10:00 AM

    Well said… Great information, keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

