Skip to content

Social Media Cost Me My Unemployment

October 5, 2009

Well, not really that at all, but a title has to be catchy doesn’t it?

Just about a year ago, I made the conscious desicion to (finally) fully participate in social media, social networking, web 2.0  or whatever you would like to call it. I started this blog, and kept up with it, connecting, eventually even… tweeting. Once I started with it, I ran with it and made all of my networks my own.

Recently I was part of the fortunate, while still having employment, I went looking for a job; I was moving back to MA and did not want to leave my position without securing my next step. I decided to revamp my resume with a new look and feel. I went to a 2 column format which opened up a whole area to place my social media links.

Now, I made sure that eveything was good on all of my profiles and I created a link to a more specific Google search than just my name (Stephen Beaudoin brings up a professor, a doctor and a ripoff report; not optimal).  I took control over my online brand.

It paid off. I went on two interviews and received two offers. But beyond that, I got one of the greatest compliment that a job seeker could get:

Your resume is one of the best that I’ve seen in the past 5 years.

A simple sentence, but one that will be hard to forget.

Take control of your online brand. Good luck.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 3:14 AM

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

